Find A Book

Phone: 304-232-0244

News  |  Calendar  |  Photo Gallery  |  FAQ  |  Ask a Librarian  |  Social Links
Back to News

"A Universe of Stories" 2019 Summer Reading Program


2019 Summer Reading Program banner


OCPL's Summer Reading Programs, 2019The Ohio County Public Library invites you on an out of this world journey. To celebrate the 2019 Summer Reading Programs, “A Universe of Stories,” and the 50th Anniversary of the Apollo 11 moon landing, the Library will be racing to the moon! For every minute of reading, we will travel one mile closer to the moon. Our moon is 238,900 miles away, so we are going to need a lot of readers to help us achieve our goal. Children, teens, and adults can help us “Read to the Moon” by logging their minutes read and sharing them with the Library between June 1st—the start of our 2019 Summer Reading Program—and July 20th—the 50th anniversary of the moon landing. The daily distance read to the moon will be visibly tracked here at the Library for all to see.

In addition, we will be hosting a number of space-themed events throughout the months of June and July for both kids and adults. 

SCHEDULE OF SPECIAL SUMMER READING PROGRAMS:


Saturday, June 1: Summer Reading Kick-Off Party

  • Noon: Mad Cap Puppets—The Great Space Caper  [kid’s]
  • 2 pm: “War of the Worlds” Radio Broadcast Reenactment

Monday, June 3

  • 6 pm: Storyteller Candace Wolf — “Stories Without Borders” [kid’s program]

Monday, June 10

Monday, June 17

Monday, June 24

Monday, July 1

  • 6 pm:  Rocket Engineer Competition [kid’s program ]

Monday, July 8

Monday, July 15

Tuesday, July 16

Saturday, July 20: 50th-anniversary lunar landing celebration

  • Noon: Astronaut Boot Camp [kid’s program]
  • 2 pm: Documentary film screening — “In the Shadow of the Moon”   (2007)

Monday, July 22

Monday, July 29

  • 6 pm:  “Out of this World” International foods festival

Monday, August 5

  • 6 pm:  SPLASH DOWN! Summer reading finale pool party [kid’s program]

Monday, August 12


Summer Reading Program 2019

Ohio County Public Library

The Ohio County Public Library serves all persons who live in the Northern Panhandle of West Virginia, which includes Hancock, Brooke, Ohio, Marshall, Wetzel and Tyler counties. Residents in Jefferson, Belmont and Monroe counties of Ohio and Washington, Greene and Allegheny counties of Pennsylvania may also receive library services. 

Monday - Thursday: 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.

Friday: 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Saturday: 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Sunday: 1 p.m. - 5 p.m.