Find A Book

Phone: 304-232-0244

News  |  Calendar  |  Photo Gallery  |  FAQ  |  Ask a Librarian  |  Social Links

Mount de Chantal

Places of Wheeling Icon

▶ Mount de Chantal Quick Links

    ▼ History  |   ▼ Location   |   ▼ Images   |     

Mount de Chantal History

Postcard: Mount de Chantal Visitation Academy, Wheeling W. Va.The Wheeling Mount de Chantal Visitation Academy was established in 1848 when the Most Rev. Richard V. Whelan invited eight Visitation Sisters from Baltimore to open a school for girls. Originally called the Wheeling Female Academy, the school was first located at 14th and Eoff streets. In 1865, the school moved to a new building three miles outside the city on the former Steenrod Farm (located just off the of the current Washington exit off of I-70). It was renamed Mount de Chantal after Saint Jane de Chantal, the co-founder of the Visitation Order.

The Mount de Chantal school building was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1978. The Mount was known for its strong academic and fine arts programs, remained boarding school until 1982. In the subsequent years, declining enrollment and financial support led to the school’s closing after 160 years of operation, with the last class graduating on May 31, 2008. Mount de Chantal was listed  in 2011.

Wheeling Hospital purchased Mount de Chantal in 2011, and despite being listed as a 2011 Endangered Property by the Preservation Alliance of West Virginia, the school was demolished in November of that year. In November 2013 Wheeling Jesuit University opened the Mount de Chantal Conservatory of Music in honor of the Visitation Sisters of Mount de Chantal.


▶ Entrance/Front Gate at 410 Washington Ave (school demolished November 2011)


Mount de Chantal

Historic Architecture  |  Places of Wheeling Home  |  Wheeling History Home  |  OCPL Home  

alt : OCPL Disclaimer

Ohio County Public Library

The Ohio County Public Library serves all persons who live in the Northern Panhandle of West Virginia, which includes Hancock, Brooke, Ohio, Marshall, Wetzel and Tyler counties. Residents in Jefferson, Belmont and Monroe counties of Ohio and Washington, Greene and Allegheny counties of Pennsylvania may also receive library services. 

Monday - Thursday: 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.

Friday: 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Saturday: 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Sunday: 1 p.m. - 5 p.m.