Sign Up For News And Updates

First Name:
Last Name:
E-mail Address:
Sign up for the following:







Address:
City:
State:
ZIP:
Mobile Phone:

Book Clubs

The Ohio County Public Library offers to Book Club opportunities per month. Participants in each group are lent a book at the end of a discussion and meet to discuss the book the following month. Discussions are lead by Library employees


First Monday Book Discussion Group

This group generally meets the first Monday of each month at noon in the library (Note: this is subject to change). First Monday Book Discussion is lead by Laura Carroll.

➤To join the OCPL's First Monday Group, send us an email to [email protected] or call the Library at 304-232-0244 and ask for Laura.

November 2021 Read: Tolstoy and the Purple Chair by Nina Sankovitch

Tolstoy and the Purple Chair by Nina Sankovitch

After the death of her sister, Nina Sankovitch found herself caught up in grief, dashing from one activity to the next to keep her mind occupied. But on her forty-sixth birthday she decided to stop running and start reading.

Catalyzed by the loss of her sister, a mother of four spends one year savoring a great book every day, from Thomas Pynchon to Nora Ephron and beyond. In the tradition of Gretchen Rubin's The Happiness Project and Joan Dideon's A Year of Magical Thinking, Nina Sankovitch's soul-baring and literary-minded memoir is a chronicle of loss,hope, and redemption. Nina ultimately turns to reading as therapy and through her journey illuminates the power of books to help us reclaim our lives.


View the ebook and audiobook available with your OCPL library card through WVDeli


Third Thursday Book Discussion Group

This group generally meets the third Thursday of each month at noon in the library (Note: this is subject to change). Third Thursday Book Discussion is lead by Lindsay Sparr.

➤To join the OCPL's First Monday Group, send us an email to [email protected] or call the Library at 304-232-0244 and ask for Lindsay.

August 2021's read: The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto (Mitch Albom, 2015)

The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto book cover

A Spanish war orphan born in a burning church and raised by a blind guitar teacher, Frankie Presto was gifted with extraordinary musical abilities that shape not only his life but the lives of those around him. At nine years old, Frankie meets the love of his life, Aurora; that same day, civil war tears apart his home and he is sent to America, smuggled in the bottom of a boat with only guitar and six strings imbued with the power to change lives.

Relying on music to survive, Frankie’s talent weaves him through the musical landscape of the twentieth century, from Detroit’s jazz scene and the Grand Ole Opry, to Elvis mania and Woodstock—all the while searching for Aurora.

As his fame grows, Frankie finds love, friendship, and celebrity. Even so, his gift becomes his burden, driving a wedge between him and his beloved Aurora—now his wife. Overwhelmed by life, loss, and the power of his strings, Frankie disappears for years, only to reemerge in a spectacular and mysterious farewell.

With its Forrest Gump–like journey through the music world, The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto is a classic in the making. "Everyone joins a band in this life," Albom observes, "only some of them play music."

Check out this book from the Library
View all books by Mitch Albom available from the Library
View all ebooks by Mitch Albom available with your OCPL library card through WVDeli
View all audiobooks and ebooks by Mitch Albom available with your OCPL library card through Hoopla


OCPL Programs Home Page   |   OCPL Home Page  

Services and Locations