Sign Up For News And Updates

First Name:
Last Name:
E-mail Address:
Sign up for the following:










Address:
City:
State:
ZIP:
Mobile Phone:

People's University: Ancient History - Recommended Reading Part I

                      People's University Ancient History series begins on Thursday, January 5th. Here are a few recommendations for reading as the series begins. Books are available from Hoopla and WV Deli-Libby. For more information on the People's University Ancient History Series, click here. Class 1-  Jan. 5, 2023 - 7 pm: Egypt Part 1 ...more

Christmas Reimagined with the Mazure Brothers

Luke and Vance Mazure helped the Lunch with Books audience reimagine Christmas [songs] at a recent Lunch with Books. The brothers put their own twist on recognizable holiday favorites. Lunch with Books on Tuesday, December 20, 2022 was reminiscent of a jazz club on Christmas Eve - that also included ...more

Lunch with Books Audience Joins Tom Breiding on Woody's Road

It has been said that Woody Guthrie was a great observer of the human condition. Guthrie traveled and worked across the United States. During this time, he passionately wrote about what he observed. The result made Guthrie one of the most significant singer-songwriters of American folk music. Singer-songwriter Tom Breiding has ...more

Justice & Candor: Shea Rose Soapery, LLC. - Small Business Saturday

As part of the ongoing Civic Empathy Through History - Wheeling's 20th Man exhibit, the Ohio County Public Library will be featuring profiles on businesses in the Wheeling community that are included in the exhibit's Justice and Candor Call to Action and have participated in the exhibit's photography. The exhibit ...more

Ah-Hoo! Werewolves of Wheeling!

Posted by S. Duffy On October 25 at Lunch With Books for our annual Halloween Special,  we explored the bizarre and terrifying alternate universe of historic lycanthropy in the Friendly City. The event featured five tall tales (or tall tails) -- by Cheryl Harshman, Kyle Knox, and Laura Jackson Roberts, yours truly, ...more

OCPL Features - Reuther-Pollack Labor History Symposium 6 Authors

  African American Workers and the Appalachian Coal Industry by Joe William Trotter Jr. This collection brings together nearly three decades of research on the African American experience, class, and race relations in the Appalachian coal industry. It shows how, with deep roots in the antebellum era of chattel slavery, West Virginia's Black ...more

OCPL Features: September 3, 2022

  How the Word is Passed by Clint Smith "We need this book." -Ibram X. Kendi, #1 New York Times bestselling author of How to be an Anti-Racist The Atlantic staff writer and poet Clint Smith's revealing, contemporary portrait of America as a slave owning nationBeginning in his hometown of New Orleans, Clint ...more

OCPL Features: President Barack Obama’s Summer Reading List 2022

President Barack Obama announced a several of his favorite books of 2022 on social media recently. On July 26th, the former president posted on Instagram, "I've read a couple of great books this year and wanted to share some of my favorites so far. What have you been reading this ...more

OCPL Features - Remembering David McCullough

David McCullough passed away, August 7th, 2022 in Boston, MA. The two-time Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award winning author, historian, narrorator, and lecturer was born in the Point Breeze neighborhood of Pittsburgh, PA. Two of McCullough's books, Truman and John Adams, were adapted for screen. In 2006, he was given ...more

OCPL Features - The Booker Prize 2022 Longlist

            The Booker Prize Foundation has announced their longlist for this year's Booker Prize. The shortlist will be revealed on September 6, with the winner announced on October 17th. In advance of the announcement, we have currated a list of the books available at the Ohio County Public Library and online. The ...more

OCPL Young Adult Book Review: The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea

OCPL Young Adult Book Review: The Girl Who Fell Beneath The Sea A New York Times Bestseller! Axie Oh's The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea is an enthralling feminist retelling of the classic Korean folktale "The Tale of Shim Cheong," perfect for fans of Wintersong, Uprooted, and Miyazaki’s Spirited Away. Deadly storms ...more

Upper Ohio Valley Historical Review Now Available at Circ Desk

Hard copies of the NEW Upper Ohio Valley Historical Review for Spring 2022 are now avaiable at the Circulation Desk at the Ohio County Public Library. Copies are $5.00 each, cash or check. Stories in the Spring Issue include: Welcome Home: Wheeling’s Doughboy is Back and Better Than Ever by Seán P. Duffy Wheeling ...more

 
Services and Locations